MOHAWK VALLEY COMMUNITY COLLEGE

Utica and Rome, New York

COLLEGE SENATE MEETING MINUTES

Tuesday, May 24, 2005, PH 300

Present: S. Bice, A. Broski, N. Caputo, E. Dailey, D. DiGiorgio, G. Donato, R. Feola,

A. Glidden, K. Hartman, W. Hysell, D. Katz, B. Kurtz, D. Larson, U. McLean,

K. Mokry, J. Myers, M. Pearson, W. Perrotti, B. Quist, N. Rutishauser, S. Senior,

M. Sewall, R. Stempien, and R. Thomas.

Excused: T. Capraro, A. Friedberg, B. Scantlebury, and M. Schafer.

Absent: S. Selden and J. Zegarelli.

Guests: D. Ayers-Darling, K. Barefoot, J. Brown, M. Buttenschon, R. Button,

R. Cantor, D. Cornish, P. Cummings, C. Domser, S. Engel, M. Ferrare, S. Frisbee,

C. Hardy, R. Jubenville, D. Kolb, C. West Pace, J. Rosicky, D. Sawyer White,

E. Searles, B. Seaton, J. Sheaffer, A.J. Stepanick, and R. Webster.

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 2:35 p.m.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES FROM PREVIOUS MEETING

Dan Larson moved, and Nancy Caputo seconded, to accept the minutes of the May 3, 2005, meeting. The motion carried by common consensus.

CHAIRPERSON'S REPORT

Chairperson Bice:

- -- attended Executive Committee meetings;
- -- attended the May meeting of the Board of Trustees;
- -- met with the Senate Advisory Committee;
- -- notified all newly elected Senators and sent thank you notes to retiring Senators;
- -- notified all newly elected members to various Senate Committees;
- -- followed up with Chairperson Carolyn West Pace of the International Initiatives Committee regarding Committee composition and terms of membership;
- -- requested a status report on the various aspects of the Memorial Committee's tasks, but had thus far not received any report; also scheduled a meeting with Fritz Barnes;
- -- forwarded the Senate's requests to the Academic Policies Committee regarding +/- grading and reading competency/comprehension;
- -- forwarded to President Schafer the College Senate's action on the Senate Bylaws and the Resolution on the Academic Bill of Rights;
- -- prepared an updated Senate membership listing, meeting dates, responsibilities of Senators, and copies of the Bylaws.

Bill Perrotti moved, and Beverly Quist seconded, to accept the Chairperson's report. The motion carried by common consensus.

Chairperson Bice then introduced the new Senators: Gideon Donato, Richard Stempien, Scott Selden, David Katz, and Richard Thomas.

COMMITTEE REPORTS

<u>Ad hoc Nominations and Elections Committee</u>: Rosemary Spetka, Chair, requested the Senate's permission to destroy the ballots from the recent elections. Mike Sewall seconded the motion, which carried with non opposed and no abstentions.

Ad hoc Senate Committee on Committees: Bill Perrotti, Chair, presented the Committee's recommendations on which Committee's meetings should be closed and which should be open. Mike Sewall moved to accept the Committee's list, and Rosemary Spetka seconded with the request that the Affirmative Action Committee, on the list, be open. The motion carried with none opposed and no abstentions to keep the following Committee meetings closed:

Academic Appeals Committee

Awards Committee

Career Appointments Committee

Promotion Review Committee for Administrators

Promotions Review Committee for Non-Teaching Professionals

Promotions Review for Faculty Committee

Sabbatical Leave Committee

Staff Development Committee

All other Senate Committees may be open to members of the college community at the discretion of the Committee Chair, and are to be announced ahead of time.

Bill Perrotti also presented the Committee's recommendations on changes to Committee compositions. Rosemary Spetka suggested that each Committee be charged with looking at their compositions for possible broadening of membership. Dr. Larson added that Committees should also look at streamlining membership. Beverly Quist moved to accept these suggestions, and Bill Hysell seconded. The motion carried with none opposed and no abstentions.

OLD BUSINESS

<u>International Initiatives Committee</u>: Carolyn West Pace, Chair, presented the Committee's proposed composition, to read:

6 faculty members: 4 elected in 3-year terms (staggered); 2 appointed

5 non-faculty members: 3 elected for 3-year terms (staggered); 2 appointed *

Coordinator of Programs for International Students

Student(s) appointed to yearly terms

Appointed members at the committee chair's discretion with the approval of the committee.

* This group refers to all other employees of the college including administrators, department heads, classified staff, and non-teaching professionals.

Appointees will be solicited as part of the ballot and then appointed by the Chairperson of the College Senate with College Senate approval.

Rosemary Spetka moved, and Eileen Dailey seconded, to accept the composition. The motion carried with none opposed and no abstentions.

NEW BUSINESS

<u>Operating Rules for the College Senate</u>: Proposed changes to the Operating Rules were tabled to give Senators a chance to examine them for input.

Promotion Review for Non-Teaching Professionals: Celia Domser proposed that, in the process for promoting faculty and non-faculty, promotion be granted if the Promotion Committee and the person's department head approved, eliminating the need for the approval by both the Vice-President of Instruction and the President. Question was raised as to what gets reported to the Board of Trustees when they make their decision. Jerry Brown explained what the Trustees get in their packet of information on each promotion candidate. Ellis Searles pointed out that the Professional Association contract specifies that the Board of Trustees has the final say in promotions, though Bill Perrotti also pointed out that promotion will be based on merit and that the college will come up with the process. Some Senators felt that the process is flawed, that the Promotion Review Committees should meet to discuss scores and to meet the applicants, and that students and peers should be interviewed and classrooms should be visited while applicants are teaching. Denise DiGiorgio pointed out that the Operating Rules of the Senate must be waived in order for this issue to be voted on. Dave Katz moved, and Dick Thomas seconded, to waive the Operating Rules. The motion failed, with 14 in favor, 5 opposed, and 1 abstention (16 in favor needed for motion to carry).

Nominations & Elections: Sue Bice was nominated as Senate Chairperson for the 2005-2006 academic year. Bill Hysell moved, and Bruce Kurtz seconded, the nomination. Bill Perrotti was nominated for Vice-Chair. Beverly Quist and Dan Larson seconded the nomination. Chairperson Bice then called for volunteers to serve on the Senate Advisory Committee. Krista Hartman volunteered, and Tom Capraro and Morris Pearson were nominated. Bill Hysell seconded all three nominations. The motion carried with none opposed and one abstention.

REPORT BY PRESIDENT SCHAFER OR DESIGNEE

None.

REPORT OF STUDENT GOVERNMENT

None.

ADJOURNMENT

Dan Larson moved, and Rosemary Spetka seconded, to adjourn. The meeting adjourned at 4:20 by common consensus.

NEXT MEETING(S)

The next College Senate meeting will be Tuesday, September 6, 2005, at 2:30 p.m. in PH 300. The next Senate Advisory Committee meeting: TBA.

Respectfully submitted,

Krista E. Hartman Recording Secretary and Senator